Travelling to Tai National Park! - Reisverslag uit Abidjan, Ivoorkust van Henk Eshuis - WaarBenJij.nu Travelling to Tai National Park! - Reisverslag uit Abidjan, Ivoorkust van Henk Eshuis - WaarBenJij.nu

Travelling to Tai National Park!

Door: Henk

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Henk

18 Maart 2010 | Ivoorkust, Abidjan

Tomorrow early in the morning I will be leaving to Tai National Park, the cameras are finally here :)

Today I met Karim again to prepare some more things. First he introduced me to some more people working here at the CSRS. (making a little bit fun of me because I cant speak french :P) Then I had to fill in some more papers for the permit to go in the Tai NP and pay for my stay here at the CSRS. After that we went into the city of Abidjan to do some shopping. We bought a lot of rice, pasta, canned tomatoes, sardines, and a lot of other food.
It was not easy to go to the city because there was no car available and we had to go by taxi and bus. The first part went well but later we had to change a taxi and we were standing in the middle of a very busy street. Some guy came to me and wanted clearly some money, Karim said dont say anything to him, so I didnt but still he followed us. But eventually we got another taxi to the shopping mall.

For the cameras we also need something to attach it with a lock to a tree. It is very hard to arrange something like that here. Karim is still busy searching for that. At the shopping mall we met by accident the driver who is going to drive us to Tai tomorrow. So I went together with the driver back to CSRS and Karim is still searching for the iron to be able to lock the cameras.

Yesterday evening I went with some students to a hotel/restaurant down the road for dinner. There we had chicken, rabbit, french fries and some kind of couscous. It tasted very goad but they also prepare the head of the animals here, not so attractive to eat :P I tried a chicken head in Indonesia but I skipped this one.

Tomorrow morning I will leave at 6 in the morning (7 in NL). From then on until the end of July, when I hope to finish my work in the forest I wont be able to go on the internet. Only way to communicate is by phone, 1 km outside the camp there is reception.
So there wont be many new stories here coming 4 months but maybe I can leave a message by phone. Also keep an eye on Marks blog: http://ivorymark.wordpress.com

Already here nearby Abidjan it is amazing to see and hear all the plants and animals. At night there is even more noise than during the day. I cant wait to go to the real jungle in Tai NP! :)

Today I made some more photos out of the car, I didn't want to make pictures in a crowded market street :)
http://picasaweb.google.com/eshuishenk/Ivoorkust#

So from here in Ivory Coast I wish everyone good luck with whatever you are doing and maybe some of you will receive my phone number where I can be reached (when I have reception :P)

I just received an email that the BBC is going to have a camera trap photo competition, http://www.bbcwildlifemagazine.com/nextIssue.asp (issue of April). Hopefully I will be on time sending in my photos :)

  • 18 Maart 2010 - 17:47

    Hans Eshuis :

    hoi

    veel plezier in het bos.

    mvg hans eshuis

  • 19 Maart 2010 - 09:27

    Gerjan:

    Ey Henkie,

    Veel suc6! en heb jij geen 5 jaar Frans gehad?:P

    Groetn,
    Gerjan G!

  • 19 Maart 2010 - 11:14

    Peter Amesz:

    godver, 34 graden... ik hoop toch wel dat het regenseizoen is?

    veel plezier (of liever gezegd werk ze...)

  • 19 Maart 2010 - 12:12

    Rita:

    Heej Henk,

    De foto's zijn weer indrukwekkend: wat weer een verschil van land! Succes en nog van harte gefeliciteerd met je 1 jaar verkering (L);)!

    Groetjes, Rita

  • 19 Maart 2010 - 15:29

    Nick :

    Yo Henk,
    niet verdwalen daar in de jungle en hopelijk zie je een hoop mooie beesten!

    Groeten,
    Nick

  • 22 Maart 2010 - 09:48

    Bram:

    Klinkt goed Bert, nu al bedelaars om je heen en duidelijk in de rimboe! Haha, succes! En super dat je je materialen al hebt!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Henk

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 745
Totaal aantal bezoekers 64619

Voorgaande reizen:

08 Mei 2011 - 10 September 2011

Tatra National Park, Slovakia

21 Augustus 2010 - 01 Oktober 2010

Southeast Asia

15 Maart 2010 - 30 Juli 2010

Pygmy Hippos in Tai National Park

20 Juli 2009 - 20 Augustus 2009

Indonesie

22 Januari 2008 - 27 Januari 2008

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: